Priests for Life Announces Pro-Life Recognition Awards for National Prayer Service on the Day of the March for Life

Priests for Life

Publication Date: September 05, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                

Contact:  Leslie Palma


Priests for Life and the National Pro-Life Religious Council today announced the winners of the 2024 National Pro-Life Recognition Awards to be presented on Friday, Jan. 19 in Washington, D.C., the day of the annual March for Life. Both winners are Texas natives.

Bishop Joseph Strickland of Tyler, Texas, and Mark Lee Dickson, director of Right to Life of East Texas and founder of the Sanctuary Cities for the Unborn Movement, will be honored during the interdenominational National Prayer Service at Constitution Hall on the morning of the March for Life.

“We are so grateful for your witness to the sanctity of life,” Priests for Life National Director Frank Pavone told the bishop as he announced the award winners in a video today.

“I couldn’t be honored more than to be honored for respecting the precious gift of life that God has given us,” the bishop said. “I truly believe the sanctity of life is the issue of our time.”

Priests for Life Executive Director Janet Morana said the second award would go to Dickson, a “young, dynamic pro-life leader,” who has been traveling around the country as cities, towns and counties work to declare themselves safe spaces for the unborn.

“It’s a great honor,” Dickson said. “We all have to work together to end abortion in America, and we couldn’t do the Sanctuary City initiative without the help of great organizations like Priests for Life.”

The National Prayer Service will take place from 8:30 to 10:30 a.m. on Jan. 19 at Constitution Hall, 1776 D. St. NW. Tickets are not required and large groups can easily be accommodated. See for details.

Priests for Life
PO Box 236695 • Cocoa, FL 32923
Tel. 321-500-1000, Toll Free 888-735-3448 • Email: